Big blow to Punjab BJP ahead of Lok Sabha polls

Debjit Mukherjee: Big blow to Punjab BJP ahead of Lok Sabha polls. Several former ministers including the vice-president left the party. Along with those leaders of BJP, several leaders of Shiromani Akali Dal also joined the Congress.

BJP Vice President Rajkumar Verka, two former ministers Balbir Singh Sidhu and Gurpreet Kanger joined the Congress on Saturday. Besides the BJP, several important leaders have left the Shiromani Akali Dal and joined the Congress. The list includes former minister Hansraj Joshan as well as former MLAs Jeet Mahinder Singh and Mahinder Singh Rinwa. Former Mohali mayor Amarjit Singh is also on the list of those who joined the Congress.

This defection before the Lok Sabha is a big blow to both the BJP and Akali Dal camps. The Congress says that as the polls approach, the urge to join the Congress will increase.