Bengal bypolls: Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo will contest for TMC from Asansol and Ballygunj

News Desk: Former Union ministers Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo will contest the upcoming West Bengal bypolls for the Trinamool Congress (TMC), Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee announced on Sunday. While Sinha will fight the Lok Sabha bye-election from Asansol, Supriyo has been selected to contest the assembly bypolls from Ballygunj.

“Happy to announce on behalf of the All India Trinamool Congress that Sri Shatrughan Sinha, former Union Minister and famed actor, will be our candidate in Lok Sabha bye-election from Asansol,” Banerjee tweeted. “Sri Babul Supriyo, former union minister and noted singer, will be our candidate in Vidhansabha bye-election from Ballygunge. Jai Hind, Jai Bangla, Jai Ma- Mati- Manush!”

On Saturday, the Election Commission announced that bypolls will be held for four assembly seats, including Asansol and Ballygunj, will be held on April 12.