Women’s Asia Cup 2022: India defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final

News Desk: The Indian women’s cricket team has become the Asia Cup 2022 champion for the seventh time as they continued their dominance in the tournament. The Indian team registered a cakewalk win over Sri Lanka in the final of the 2022 edition by 8 wickets. For her brilliant performance with the ball, Renuka Singh Thakur has won the man of the match award, while Deepti Sharma has been named the Player of the tournament for her all-round show during the tournament.

In the final match, the Sri Lankan side won the toss and chose to bat. SL openers Chamari Athapaththu and Anushka Sanjeewani came out to open the innings but they were soon inflicted a blow when their captain Athapaththu ran out in the third over itself. It did not go any well for the Lankan batters and they kept losing wickets. The track assisted the spinners but not to the extent that the scoreboard showed. Renuka Singh scalped three wickets, while Rajaeshwari Gayakwad and Sneh Rana picked two scalps each. Sri Lanka toiled towards fifty and managed to play the complete 20 overs but the target was too meagre to be a worry for the Indian team.

Coming out to bat, the Indian team also lost Shafali Verma in the fourth over but Smriti Mandhana was in brilliant touch. She smashed a 25 ball 51 and took the team across the line with 8 wickets in hand. With this win the Indian team has won it’s seventh Asia Cup title, only losing once in 2018 to Bangladesh.

Harmanpreet Kaur after the match said:

We should give credit to the bowlers and the fielding unit was very good today from the first ball. We didn’t want to give them easy runs as every ball is important, proud of the way we performed today. You should read the wicket and place the field according to that. We did that very well and placed the fielders accordingly and that really helped us. We were not looking at the scorecard and we were just looking at the short checkpoints we had for ourselves and it all worked out well.

This was India’s seventh consecutive final appearance after comprehensivley beating Thailand in the semifinal. For Sri Lanka, it was not an easy semifinal as they faced a nail biting competition from Pakistan, winning by just 1 run.