History in Ranji trophy after debutant Sakibul Gani score 300

News Desk: After a gap of almost two years, the Ranji Trophy returned this week to the delight of the Indian cricket community.  India’s premier first-class competition got off to a stunning start as U-19 World-Cup winning captain Yash Dhull scored a century on debut for Delhi while veteran batter Ajinkya Rahane also made a three-figure knock for Mumbai against Saurashtra at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on Thursday.

On Friday, there was a piece of history created in the Ranji trophy as Bihar batter Sakibul Gani scored a triple-century against Mizrom at Kolkata’s Jadavpur University Cricket Ground. Gani got to the milestone in just 387 deliveries.

By virtue of this knock, Gani became the first cricketer in history to score a triple century on his first-class (FC) debut. He broke Madhya Pradesh batter Ajay Rohera’s record for the highest score on FC debut. Rohera had scored an unbeaten knock of 267 against Hyderabad in the 2019/19 season of the Ranji Trophy.

Highest score on FC debut 

Sakibul Gani (341)- 2022

Ajay Rohera (267*)- 2018

Alongside his brilliant individual knock, Gani put up a massive partnership of 538 runs with Babul Kumar. The Bihar’s duo marathon stand in the fourth highest in Ranji Trophy history and the third-highest for the fourth wicket in first-class cricket. Babul also scored a double-century as Bihar put up a massive total which has crossed 600. Gani’s historic knock was ended by left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah when he was batting at 341.