UP Assembly Polls: Congress released its star campaigners list, Samajwadi Party announces list of 159 candidates

News Desk: Election day in Uttar Pradesh is near. On Monday, the Congress released its star campaigners list and the Samajwadi Party on the other hand announced its list of 159 candidates.

Both veteran and young leaders were named in the Congress star campaigners’ list.

Besides former PM Manmohan Singh and party’s interim president Sonia Gandhi, the list includes siblings Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra. Party veteran Ghulam Nabi Azad, Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot, PL Punia and RPN Singh along with new entrants Hardik Patel and Kanhaiya Kumar are the other star campaigners for the party.

Popular faces like Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, Rajasthan leader Sachin Pilot, former UP Congress chief Raj Babbar, Haryana leader Deepender Hooda too have been named as star campaigners.

UPCC chief Ajay Kumar Lallu and party MLA Aradhana Mishra have also been nominated by the party to campaign in the elections.

On the other hand, the Samajwadi Party on Monday announced its of 159 candidates.

Party chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest from Karhal in Mainpuri district, jailed leader Azam Khan from Rampur and renominating party MLA Nahid Hasan from Kairana.

Former state minister Dharam Singh Saini, who crossed over to the SP a few days ago, has been named as the party’s nominee from Nakur seat in Saharanpur district.

The Samajwadi Party had last week said that former Congress leader Imran Masood, who had also joined the SP, extended his support to Saini’s candidature amid reports about his resentment over denial of ticket to him.

The party has fielded jailed leader Azam Khan from his traditional Rampur seat, while his son Abdullah Azam has been made the party candidate from Suar Tanda assembly seat.

Shivpal Yadav, who is the uncle of Akhilesh Yadav, has been declared as the party candidate from the family bastion of Jaswantnagar assembly constituency in Etawah district.