Bengal Assembly: Four BJP MLAs debarred, BJP staged walkout

Debjit Mukherjee, Kolkata: West Bengal Assembly Speaker Biman Bandyopadhyay on Monday debarred four BJP MLAs – Gopal Saha, Hiranmoy Chatterjee, Nikhil Ranjan Dey, and Partha Sarathi Chattopadhyay – for the rest of the winter session till November 30. However, they were allowed to attend the House and participate in all other events. As per Bandyopadhyay, the four BJP legislators did not respond when their names were called out for making their point during the Mention Hour. The four MLAs were protesting the Speaker’s refusal to table the adjournment motion moved by the BJP on the school jobs scam during the end of the first half of the session and walked out even as Bandyopadhyay called out their names as already listed by the party. The BJP staged a walkout from the West Bengal assembly when its demand for tabling an adjournment motion to discuss the entire teaching job scandal issue in state schools was rejected. Speaker Biman Bandyopadhyay turned down the plea of the opposition party on the ground that the matter is sub-judice.