Saffron domination continues; BJP won 5 out of 10 bypoll seats

Debjit Mukherjee: BJP won the bypolls for the Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats, Samajwadi Party’s strongholds, in Uttar Pradesh on Sunday – Dinesh Lal Yadav ‘Nirahua’ won the Azamgarh seat by over 8,000 votes and Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi won Rampur by over 42,000. BJP already has 62 out of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh. The bypoll victory has increased the party’s tally to 64, while the count of Akhilesh Yadav’s party has come down to three from five.

In Tripura, BJP won 3 out of 4 constituencies and Congress bagged one. Chief Minister and BJP candidate Manik Saha won in Town Bordowali. Meanwhile, in Agartala constituency, Sudip Roy Barman of the Congress won. The BJP’s Swapna Das won in Surma, and BJP’s Smt. Malina Debnath won from Jubarajnagar constituency.

In Delhi, AAP retained the Rajinder Nagar assembly constituency in Delhi as its candidate Durgesh Pathak registered a resounding victory in a bypoll, defeating his BJP rival Rajesh Bhatia by a margin of over 11,000 votes. But in Punjab, they faced a huge defeat with the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) candidate Simranjit Singh Mann defeating the ruling party’s candidate on a Lok Sabha seat held last by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann.

In Jharkhand, Congress candidate Shilpi Neha Tirkey won the by-election to Jharkhand’s Mandar seat on Sunday, defeating her nearest rival, BJP’s Gangotri Kujur, by a margin of 23,517 votes.

In Andhra Pradesh, YSRCP candidate and brother of the late minister Mekapati Goutham Reddy, Mekapati Vikram Reddy, won a landslide victory in the Atmakuru bypoll. He won by a majority of 82,888 votes.