Bengal civic polls: TMC announced its list of candidates

News Desk: The All India Trinamool Congress announced its list of candidates for election to four municipal corporations– Bidhannagar, Chandannagar, Asansol and Siliguri. The civic polls in West Bengal are slated to be held on January 22, 2022.

TMC announced a list of 227 candidates, 76 of them are women.

Sabyasachi Dutta, former Mayor of Bidhhanagar, who had left TMC and joined BJP in 2019, only to return after the 2021 assembly polls, was given nomination from ward number 31 in Bidhannagar.

“The report on our councillors prepared by IPAC has played a key role while selecting candidates” a senior TMC leader was quoted as saying.

During the December 19 Kolkata civic polls, the ruling TMC had dropped 39 out of 124 sitting councillors.

Like in the KMC poll, the party is also likely to issue a stern warning to all its candidates against using any form of force during the poll, the leader said.

“The party will not tolerate any use of force during the coming civic election. If anyone is found to be involved in any form of violence on the polling day strict action will be taken” the leader said.

Out of the four civic bodies where the poll will be held on January 22, the TMC had won three in 2015. The Left Front had won the election in Siliguri Municipal Corporation. The election could not held in 2020 due to the pandemic situation.