West Bengal: CM Mamata Banerjee and other MLAs took oath

News Desk: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and MLAs Amirul Islam and Jakir Hossain took oath as three newly-elected MLAs, in the presence of West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar on Thursday.

On October 3, Mamata Banerjee won the crucial Bhabanipur elections with a margin of over 58,000 votes. According to the official website of the Election Commission of India, she bagged 85,263 votes – about 71.90 per cent of the total votes in the by-polls.

BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal bagged 26,428 votes, while  Communist Party of India (CPI) candidate Srijib Biswas managed to get 4,226 votes. While Hussain was elected from Jangipur, Islam won from Samserganj Assembly seat in West Bengal.

Earlier this week, West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar had said that he will administer Banerjee’s oath, thus marking a departure from the practice wherein the governor authorised the Assembly Speaker to administer the same.