A BJP leader of Hooghly district has been shot

News Desk: A Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader of West Bengal’s Hooghly district has been shot. The incident took place in Champdani area of the district on Tuesday night. As per the available information, the attack was on BJP’s municipal election candidate of ward no. 15, Prashant Ray.

BJP has alleged TMC’s role behind the incident.

More details are awaited.

The incident comes on a day BJP’s campaign tableau, the ‘rath’, in the poll-bound state was allegedly vandalised in Purulia moments after TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee’s rally in the area.

Earlier today, the bus part of BJP’s ‘rath yatra’ was vandalised in state’s Purulia district. The incident reportedly took place soon after Trinamool MP Abhishek Banerjee’s rally in Manbazar town of the district.

While the BJP alleged TMC’s role in the attack on its campaign tableau, the latter denied the allegations.

The incident took place when the ‘Poriborton’ rath yatra was returning to Purulia after completing rounds of all nine assembly constituencies of the district.

Hooghly tense over BJP’s selection of candidates

The Hooghly attack has also come in the backdrop of ongoing protests by BJP supporters over party’s decision to field TMC turncoats for the upcoming assembly elections in the state.

On Monday, BJP’s Hooghly office was ransacked while a party leader in the district, Somnath Maitra, was beaten up as party supporters were angry over Singur candidate Rabindranath Bhattacharya who was earlier in TMC.

BJP workers in Singur have said that they will not accept Rabindranath Bhattacharya’s candidature. The cadre says that BJP workers in Singur were targeted and even arrested due to Rabindranath Bhattacharya who was then the local MLA from Trinamool.

Rabindranath Bhattacharya was among five sitting TMC MLAs who joined the BJP on March 8. Others were Sonali Guha, Sital Sardar, Dipendu Biswas and Jatu Lahiri.

The TMC had said that Rabindranath Bhattacharya was denied a ticket since he is 85-years-old and the party decided not to field any candidates of 80 years of age or older.