Tripura: 5 BJP leaders sent to jail custody for assaulting Tripura Civil Service officer

News Desk: Five BJP leaders – Sujit Debnath, Sanjoy Patari, Biswajit Pal, Shibas Debnath and Jayanta Debnath – sent to jail custody for 12 days by a local court of Sabroom in South Tripura for assaulting a Tripura Civil Service (TCS) officer and nine other government employees, including policemen.

As per sources, a group of BJP workers assaulted Poangbari BDO Vaijayanta Sarkar and his staff while they were holding an administrative camp in Madhab Nagar village to verify the records of the beneficiaries of Prime Minister Awas Yojana on Wednesday.

Sarkar alleged “A group of BJP cadres stormed the camp and demanded modification of the beneficiary list. They said the beneficiaries were selected by the previous government”